WICKED: THE BROADWAY MUSICAL- MY REVIEW

Dear Fashionminies!

How have you all been? Its been an amazing start in this new year all from January till now. As I have told you all before this year I will be bringing on reviews on the latest concerts I have attended or planning on attend during 2013.  Also new photoshoots, new styling ideas, and so much more. I had also mentioned I had been taking guitar lessons, which I can proudly say theyre going pretty darn good so far. Its so much fun, and I love music so much. Music, Arts, Fashion everything is big part of my life therefore I like to share it with all of you. Just like the story and review I am going to share with you now of WICKED: The Broadway Musical.

421566_10151481604400944_778688748_n

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the story of WICKED” its  based on a novel by the amazing author Gregory Maguire. Wicked is what is considered as the prequel to the famous story of “The Wizard of Oz.” In “Wicked” you get to know deeper in detail about both witches who are Galinda who is known as  Glinda the Good Witch, and Elphaba who is  known as the Wicked Witch of the West. In the story it explains how these two unlikely girls become best friends and the challenges they will have to face together in the Emerald City as they make their way to find Oz. And it also has a good point on love, good, bad, and all the good stuff.  The Broadway of NYC production for this play was nominated for 10 Tony awards in 2004, and  in fact they won three of those nominations:From Best Scenic Design, Best Costume Design to Best Actress in a Musical for Idina Menzel, who played the Wicked Witch of the West: Elphaba.

wcked

 

So on Saturday the 23rd, my cousin’s friend couldn’t attend to the performance of WICKED: The Broadway Musical that was being held here in Orlando, Florida at the Bob Carr. She offered the tickets to my cousin who immediately invited me knowing that I am a huge “WICKED” the novel fan. Of course I said yes without hesitating. It was a blessing sent from above, being that I have been wanted to see this play for what seems like forever, due to the fact that I wasn’t able to attend last year since it sold out all shows. Being so of popular and high demand they decided to bring it back to Orlando this year. Tickets ranged in various prices but Orchestra level being the most expensive.  So my cousin got the tickets and after work we immediately drove in less than 30 minutes to the venue trying to find parking and walking fast about 10-15 minutes before the show started. We made it just in time. No food on my stomach since breakfast I was super hungry but my excitement was so built up that the hunger was the last thing my mind, well almost ;).

When we looked at the tickets and we saw where our seats where located I almost fainted, they were orchestra level they were the third row almost dead center away from the stage. It was amazing view, and experience to see a play from. As I sat there my heart raced and there was lovely curtain that represented the Emerald City with little lights on it.

emerald city

As they played started I felt like I was being slowly taken in to the Emerald City and on my way to find Oz along with the characters. The storytelling through the performance of the actors, who were also dancers and singers was beautiful. The costume design, lighting, music, and staging were impeccable. The songs, and lyrics were a classic. Everything was spot on and you could tell it was a Broadway production.  My favorite actress of the night was the girl who played Elphaba she had an outstanding voice! But they all did great. I definitely recommend a high GO watch it if you haven’t yet. Its an experience of a lifetime.

The merchandise were expensive as heck though but a souvenir its always a must for me no matter what. Because to me it represents the experience, a memory. So I got a pen, socks with both witches on it, and a programme that inside has all the information of WICKED: The Musical all around the world, and name, photos, and information of the actors and actresses who have made history.  Which is pretty cool! They also carried tops, keychains, soundtracks, and other things but too much high a cost. 😦

 

lllll

I hope you enjoyed this post and that you have the chance to go see any broadway play or production wether its here in Orlando, New York, or anywhere in the world.  Love you all xxx

XO

Evetzie ❤

EVETZIE’S REPERTOIRE: FASHION BEAUTY STYLE!

LIKE ME ON FACEBOOK: EVETZIE’S REPERTOIRE: FASHION BEAUTY STYLE!

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER: @evetziestyles

INSTAGRAM: evetzie_styles

Leave a Reply

